Raza Rumi of Jinnah Institute attacks Pakistan Blogzine in Herald magazine – By Ravez Junejo

by admin

Raza Rumi is a Director of notorious Jinnah Institute.

Noted “liberal” Raza Rumi (Director of ISI-sponsored Jinnah Institute) continues his hate campaign against Pakistan Blogzine. This time, he chose an interview to the Herald magazine as the platform to vent his grievance against us.

“A website ostensibly working for human rights advocacy and media watch but in reality is dedicated to criticising Pakistani journalists, posted a blog about a journalist and blogger Raza Rumi. “My comments were taken out of context, making me sound like someone I could not recognise,” he says. “It is the worst kind of blogging that you can do.”” Source: What’s in a blog by Sabina Qazi; The Herald June 2012 issue pg 86.

On behalf of the Pakistan Blogzine (PB) editorial team, I present a concise official response to The Herald against this incorrect assessment of our blog. I request supporters of PB to forward their complaints and the content of this email to the Herald’s email address: letters.herald@dawn.com

“This is with reference to the article ‘What’s in a blog’ published in The Herald’s June 2012 issue. A reference has been made to a blog described as focusing on human rights advocacy and media watch but indulging instead in apparently undue “criticising (of) Pakistani journalists”. The fact that this reference quotes Pakistan Blogzine’s motto and that Raza Rumi has been named in connection to that unnamed blog makes us certain that the blog referred to is our Pakistan Blogzine whose content and editorial team both have been consistently attacked by Mr Rumi through his social media accounts.

The article’s author does include “media watch” as one of that blog’s activities and such an exercise includes valid, fact-based criticism of media persons that include anchor persons and journalists. Such criticism is either aimed at their misperception of certain human rights issues or their lack of interest in them.

Apart from “criticising Pakistani journalists”, Pakistan Blogzine has a public and well known track record of raising awareness about excesses against oppressed and persecuted groups including (among others) the Shia, Hazara, Baloch, Pashtun and Ahmadi communities of Pakistan. It has meticulously catalogued on its blog incidents of violence against these communities and has called out those journalists, bloggers and even politicians who have ignored such incidents or failed to use their social positions to add their voice in the condemnation of such incidents. That is where our “criticising Pakistani journalists” policy comes in.

Sincerely,

Pakistan Blogzine editorial team

10 Comments to “Raza Rumi of Jinnah Institute attacks Pakistan Blogzine in Herald magazine – By Ravez Junejo”

  1. Its sad that Raza Rumi continues to pursue his vendetta against this blog. Only because we questioned his association with a far-right TV anchor who’s name is on Al Qaeda’s Rolodex among the names of three other Pakistani journalists.

  2. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog!

    We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in
    a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial
    information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  3. I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also visit this web site on regular basis to obtain updated from most up-to-date information.

  4. Great paintings! That is the type of info that should
    be shared around the net. Disgrace on the

    search engines for no longer positioning this submit upper!

    Come on

    over and discuss with my website . Thanks

    =)

  5. Hey there are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the

    blog world but I’m trying to get started and
    create my own. Do you require any coding

    expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be
    really appreciated!

  6. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was

    once entirely right. This submit actually made my day.
    You cann’t

    believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  7. I will immediately snatch your rss feed as I can not
    find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter
    service. Do

    you have any? Please allow me realize so that I may just
    subscribe. Thanks.

  8. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i

    came to “return the choose”.I’m trying to to find things to improve my site!I suppose its

    adequate to make use of a few of your ideas!!

  9. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of
    your

    site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content

    so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having
    one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  10. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with

    Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good

    gains. If you know of any please share. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

