My romance with Imran Khan – by Asmat Randhawa

by admin

Imran Khan has organized no dharnas against Baloch genocide and Shia genocide


I have been fan of Imran Khan since 1991, the time when I could not even spell his name in English. After winning the cricket world cup, he became the blue eyed boy of the nation. Later on his philanthropist work for building cancer hosptial and later building an educational insitution of a high standard made him even more popular for many like me in Pakistan. His political views, however, were confusing for people like me specially his views on Talban. Many times my mind told me to stop my romance with him but I must say my heart won that battle between my mind and heart. So I kept my hopes on Imran Khan though there were some visible cracks in my romace with him. Then to my good suprise when he visited Ahmadi survivers in a hopsital after the masscare in an Ahmadi mosque in Lahore and his condemnation of Salmaan Taseer’s murder for a while healed the cracks to some extent.

But last summer when I moved to Stockholm and lived with a Baloch student that was the time when I heard true stories of events in Balochistan. That was the time when I realized the grave situation of my Bloch brothers and understood how Blochistan was taken over by Pakistan army in an occupational way which involved target killings of Bloch individuals and activists. Then I came to know about silent Shia genocide in Balochistan and elsewhere which remains equally ignored and misrepresented in Pakistani and international media. That was the time when I looked towards my hope, Imran Khan. What is his stance? How many times has he spoken against the Baloch genocide and the Shia genocide? How many times did he visit Balochistan and meet the victims of a ruthless military estbalishment. I must say a huge wave of disappointment and anger rose from my heart and mind. It was the first massive crack in my romace with Imran Khan that I had for past several decades with him.

I started watching Imran Khan and his PTI more closely: who are the main people in PTI, what is their background, what are their views? I must say I got scared when I found many of them are from Jamat-e-Islami. Then a few weeks back pictures emerged that some people close to Irman Khan like Ejaz Chauhdry (Vice President of PTI), are mingling and hugging terrorists of Lashkr-e-Jhangivi, Sipah-e-Sahaba, Lashkar-e-Taiba, Khatam-e-Nabuwat etc. That proved to be the last nail in the coffin of my so called romance and the feeling came: You too Brutus?

I had no hopes from Nawaz Sharif and co as in my view they can sleep with devil to get power; so Sharifs’ close contacts with killer Saudi kings or their law minister’s alliance with Sipah-e-Sahaba and Shahbaz Sharif’s assistance to Malik Ishaq was not a surprise to me.

But the kind of people who have gathered around Imran Khan, people like Ejaz Chaudhry, Arif Alvi and other Jamatyas, I think Khan has started his down fall of the dream of building a peaceful, strong Pakistan where different sects, religions, authenticities, ideologies are to be treated with equality and respect.

He is allegedly supported by Pakistan’s military establishment (people such as Haroon Rasheed, Dr. Shireen Mazari, Dr. Shahid Masood, Ansar Abbasi supporting Imran Khan do provide some credence to this allegation). Imran Khan’s tacit support by the military establishment has also been highlighted by Najam Sethi in a recent program:

It is, therefore, no surprise that barring an odd token statement or two, Imran Khan has refused to condemn the Baloch and Shia genocides currently taking place at the hands of Pakistan’s military establishment and their proxies. While he has actively organized and participated in demonstrations against drone attacks on Taliban-Al Qaeda hideouts in FATA, why no such activity against Baloch killings and Shia killings?

Still some people might vote for Imran Khan particularly those who have been disappointed by the vacuum Nawaz Sharif and Asif Zardari have created due to their mismanagement, corruption and incompetence. This vacuum may benefit Imran Khan and some people might vote for him which might bring him to power. But my dreams are shattered, the romance is over. Now it’s only a choice of going for a lesser eveil as compared to the two bigger ones.

3 Comments to “My romance with Imran Khan – by Asmat Randhawa”

  1. Imran Khan has organized no dharnas against Baloch genocide and Shia genocide.

    Says everything!!!

  2. Imran Khan in an interview to CNN-IBN program Devil’s Advocate tried to evade question by Karan Thapar Whether he would stop Hafiz Saeed from making violent attacks on India as he continues to make anti-India statements publicly…

    Karan Thapar: Let me press this like this, the LeT was supposedly declared a militant group and prescribed way back in 2002. But it simply re-morphed and re-appeared as Jamat ud Dawa and Falat-e-Insaniyat and it operates freely as you know. Hafiz Saeed, its leader, regularly makes anti-India hate speeches. Will you put a stop to that?

    Imran Khan: Well, I again repeat, that if there are no militant groups operating from within Pakistan, which should be our statement policy, and as things stand today, Pakistan has no choice but to go this route.

    Karan Thapar: But when you say no militant groups does that specifically include not just LeT, but also Jamat ud Dawa, Falat-e-Insaniyat, Jaish e Mohammad, in other words those groups that target India?

    Imran Khan: Well not just India. There are groups that are targetting people within Pakistan. We have a number of militant groups.

    Karan Thapar: But you are not answering my question. The Indians will think you are evading it.

    Imran Khan: No. When I say no militant groups, it means no militant groups.

    Karan Thapar: Including Jamat ud Dawa?

    Imran Khan: Exactly. There would not be any militant groups operating within Pakistan. How can I be more specific than that?

    Karan Thapar: Would you name Jamat ud Dawa, Falat-e-Insaniyat and Hafez Saeed and say that you will put a check to these three people? Will you name them?

    Imran Khan: Look, I am living in Pakistan. Pakistan at the moment is the most polarised country in the world. A governor gets shot, his assassin becomes a hero. There’s no point in becoming a hero right now in this country where there’s no rule of law. Life is very cheap here. So, just let me put it as a policy statement. Don’t just go into details. As a policy statement, it should answer your question. No militant groups operating from within Pakistan.

    Ref: http://ibnlive.in.com/news/build-trust-put-kashmir-on-back-burner-imran/201956-56.html

    Video of Imran Khan’s interview to Devil’s Advocate:

Leave a Reply

